Happiness in Life

Today I’m sitting outside eating my apple on break and enjoying the beautiful Wisconsin weather.  Here is a pic of my view.

 

 

 

I have been thinking a lot this week about how different my life will be after I move to Panama.  I’ve been reflecting on what makes me happy after reading a post which my friend Chris Powers wrote, and you can read here:  http://thestayathomegringo.blogspot.com/2014/06/taking-plunge-and-finding-happiness-as.html

 

I’ve done a lot of work on myself in relation to who I am, how to be a better person, all the usual psychobabble stuff.  I currently go to therapy with my husband.  We have an awesome marriage, and therapy makes it even more awesome.  It helps me  know who I am even more.  Moving to Panama will not change some things for me.  I’m not looking to Panama to find happiness.  I think I will be happy once I move there, but I’m not expecting Shangri La.  But, it will change other things, and I’m hoping for the better.  I’m already a happy person and love my life.  I don’t think I will miss the long commutes to work, or the freezing cold winters.  I might miss the colors and smell and cool breezes of fall, but what I will be gaining in exchange will be far better.  I will be able to spend more time with my wonderful husband who I adore, and we will be able to live a healthier lifestyle.  I’m just not personally motivated to go walking or exercise when it gets dark at 4 in the afternoon on a cold winter day.  I’m looking forward to pursuing more creative outlets that I enjoy.  I do always find it interesting how other people chose Panama and what they like and dislike about it.  One thing I know I don’t want to be is an ugly Gringo or a disembroiled Gringo.  I try to see the good things always in life and look on the brighter side.

 

What about you, what was your motivation for moving to Panama, and what do you like most and dislike about it?

Leave a Reply

