My Fun Find

20140416-202106.jpg

I’m still working on my Spanish and determined to learn as much as I can while still here getting ready for the big move. I went to the big book store in Madison and picked up a few things. I was really excited to find the Medical Spanish. I went to school for health information, and I type medical reports as part of my job. I’ve always liked words and anything medical, so I was extra happy to find this. Plus, I think it could come in handy if we ever had a medical emergency. Yes, I know about Rodney which is an awesome resource, and I would not hesitate to use him if I needed to. But, it’s so much fun looking over the words and seeing what the Spanish word is compared to the English. Many of the words are surprisingly very similar.

Things are also really starting to move along as far as our planning goes. We’ll be having a garage sale next weekend, the Sunday after Easter. Our neighborhood is having the annual garage sale then, so hopefully we can sell more things. So far Craigslist has been very successful too. Our house is getting close to being ready to put on the market, and the real estate market here has been pretty good, so I’m hopeful our house will sell fast. And, I’m hoping my gut instinct is right. But, it will sell when the time is right, whether that be today or manana.

We have received two of our Apostille documents back and are waiting for one more document, then we will plan a trip to get the process started and get our Panama driver’s license started too. I’ve been very happy with our attorney so far. He has been so helpful and professional. I know someone else who used him and was very pleased. I’m hoping our process goes just as smoothly. But, it is Panama, so one just never knows!

10 thoughts on “My Fun Find

  1. I think one of the best books for learning CONVERSATIONAL Spanish is:
    http://www.amazon.com/Madrigals-Magic-Spanish-Margarita-Madrigal-ebook/dp/B004FGMD8W/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1397709548&sr=1-1&keywords=madrigals+magic+key+to+spanish
    She uses an different approach to teaching by starting with the PAST TENSE first. It makes sense because, if you think about it, most of what we talk about is what we have DONE. ‘I WENT to the store this morning.’ At the bus terminal I TALKED with several people, in Spanish, while we WERE WAITING for our bus to arrive.’ ‘Then, when I got home I BOUGHT a new tank of gas for the stove.’ (Those are actual examples from what I DID today.)

    You’ll also discover that you ALREADY know hundreds of Spanish word. Doctor, actor, color, etc. Words that are close to our own… words ending in ‘dad’ are often like ours ending in ‘y’. Electricidad, velocidad, etc.

    I would go for the paperback volume, though, since you can easily flip back and forth.

    Another great book to get is: http://www.amazon.com/Breaking-Beginners-Spanish-Joseph-Keenan-ebook/dp/B0047BJ2UC/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1397710013&sr=1-1&keywords=breaking+out+of+beginner%27s+spanish

    Buenos suerte…

  2. Joel has the Madrigal book. I should get it out and take a look. I still don’t have my past tenses straight. I’ve been using duolingo.com lately, nice change from books. I also have a medical Spanish book I’d give to you. I don’t plan on working any more 😀

    It sounds like things are moving right along with your moving plans!

    • I definitely want to look into that book. The Pimsleur CD’s are great to start and I’m really starting to get the hang of it, but I need to keep moving and get into some more advanced areas of the language. I will be working for a USA company and only part time, because I know the internet and electricity will be an issue sometimes. I currently work with people from all over the globe which makes my job so interesting. Almost all of them speak at least 3-4 languages. I”m just amazed at that! And the medical world is a lanuage in itself. There are a few Spanish speaking people and it’s fun to talk to them. I’m so grateful they are willing to correct my pronunciations and help me.

  3. When I was living over in Antibes, France, there was a guy who owned one of the expat watering holes (a place where the common language for everyone was English no matter where they came from) who spoke SEVEN languages. He was Austrian so naturally his mother tongue was German. Charlies also spoke English, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese and Russian. He could switch from one to the other instantly. Talking to you in English, turn to his wife for German and then yell at one of the waitresses in French, bang, bang, bang. I asked him where he learned to speak Russian and he said it was as a Russian POW during WWII.

  4. I have been playing around on duolingo for the past hour. Tested out at 5th level because of some spelling errors, but I don’t care because I’m SPEAKING it, not writing it. One thing they’re WRONG about is that they insist that the apostrophe that makes something possessive comes AFTER the letter S, not before it. As in “I am my parent’s son.” They insist that it’s (possessive again) parents’ and they’re WRONG!!!

    • Thanks for the info! I only care about speaking it too. Right now I’m listening to my CD’s and radio more than anything and talking to my coworkers who speak Spanish when I can. I’m starting to be able to roll my R’s easier too!

  5. I often tell people here who complement me on my Spanish that I SPEAK it better than I HEAR it.

    The hardest part of learning a new language so that you can actually USE it is training your ear to hear it. At first it’s just noise…blah, blah, blah, blah. Then, one day you’re able to pick out a word from all the babble. And you learn what that word means and then you pick up more and more. In general I understand about 75% of what most people are saying to me. Enough so that I’m generally able to get the gist of what they’re saying and we’re able to have a conversation.

    Another thing about learning to use a language is not caring that you’re making mistakes. I BUTCHER the Spanish language. I know I’ve made a mistake the instant it passes my lips, but I don’t care as long as the people I’m talking to understand what I’m trying to impart. Of course I hope, as time goes by, that I make fewer and fewer mistakes.

    One of the biggest mistakes expats everywhere make is that they think they need to become FLUENT in the language and generally that’s never going to be happen. What a person needs to shoot for is to become PROFICIENT in the language of their adopted country. To be able to go into places like banks, utility companies, and the like and deal with things. I can do that. I had to get a motorcycle endorsement on my driver’s (possessive) license which required going to driving school (in Spanish) and taking a written test in Spanish, no dictionaries or translators allowed. I PASSED!

    This is the second time I’ve had to learn another language. I got a job that landed me on the French Riviera for three years, and when I landed in Nice I could count to 10 in French and tell people that my aunt’s pen was on my uncle’s desk. And going to the supermarket made one realize what it is to be functionally illiterate. I mean, you look at a can and it has a picture of tomatoes on it there’s a good chance there are tomatoes inside. But it took me a year to realize that crème fraiche (which looks like fresh to me) was actually sour cream. And so it goes.

Leave a Reply

