It’s the little things

20140303-110054.jpg

Today a friend from work gave me this little green turtle charm. If you didn’t know I like turtles. I just think they’re really cute. O even have a turtle tattoo. It started when my mom went to Florida and brought me back a pink spotted turtle refrigerater magnet many years ago.

So I named my little green turtle charm Esmerelda and placed her on my computer monitor. I never used to like the color green. I don’t know why I never cared for it, but it’s really starting to grow on me. My mom’s favorite color was green, and as I get older, when I see certain things it reminds me of her. Like yellow roses which were her favorite and she grew in her garden, morning glories and the color green. Whenever she had a choice of color for anything, she would always choose green. Her kitchen was green for as long as I can remember. She also appreciated the little things in life. She loved to walk and enjoyed walking as much as she could and couldn’t wait for the snow and ice to disappear so she could walk outside again after winter was over. Being in Boquete this last January, all the green really made me appreciate how much I have. All the green made me think of my mom and how she appreciated the little things in life. She loved her grandkids and enjoyed spending time with them gardening, playing games or reading books.

So this morning when I received Esmerelda and she was green, it just made me reflect and think of these things, and how I’m looking forward to starting this new chapter in my life. The chapter that has already started and I hope never ends, because I’m enjoying it so immensely. As I drove to work in 0 degrees (again) today, looking at green Esmerelda reminds me of the green of Panama and how I can’t wait to be able to go hiking every day, to have papaya every day for breakfast with lime juice sprinkled on top. Yep, another green. So my appreciation for green is growing by the day. I still have so much to do and am continuing my daily duty to get to my green life. But I’m enjoying the journey as I follow the path that will lead us to Panama.

One thought on “It’s the little things

Leave a Reply

